Thunder Mountain

There are many signs of spring in Juneau, but one of my favorites would be the avalanches on Thunder Mountain.  We just had the first small one the other day and it really does sound like thunder!

I thought that with all of the sunshine we’ve been having I should get a couple of pictures of the mountain before all of the snow melts or comes crashing down.

For those that aren’t familiar with Thunder Mountain – many of the ‘valley’ neighborhoods run right up to its base.  In fact, the pictures here are basically the view from my bedroom window.  So when the avalanches start everybody in the valley notices.

I just hope I’m looking at it when this huge lip goes…

Leave a Reply

