Sandy Beach

I was at “Sandy Beach” in Douglas on Saturday and thought I’d post these pictures.

Most of the ‘sand’ on this beach is actually the left overs from the old gold mine.  They pulverized rock from the mountain just behind this beach and dumped the remains here.

I don’t know what this is but the barnacles and mussels sure seem to like it.

All that remains of the old docks and structures are the pilings.

I thought this rusty chain looked cool with barnacles on it.

It’s hard to believe that not too long ago this area was covered in structures.

4 thoughts on “Sandy Beach

  1. This is absolutely beautiful. I admit, you’re right. I read your About page and those are all the things I think of when I think of Alaska…well, that and Balto. This blog is breathtakingly gorgeous though and I think one day I’ll have to take a little trip to Alaska for myself. Living in Texas, which is so huge that you can travel all over and never run out of things to see, sometimes I forget that there are other states. Thanks for the reminder.

    • I’m glad you like the pictures so far. Just wait a few weeks – things are starting to grow fast and soon my pictures will reflect that. This is, after all, a rain forest…

Leave a comment